top of page

Asteya, or: Our Inner Crookedness



New month, new concept from the well of wonders that is yogic philosophy! We continue the journey through the yamas (ethical restraints, or don’ts) and niyamas (practices, or do’s) that are suggested in Hindu texts for virtuous living.


In October, I’ll explore the yama of asteya, or non-stealing (from the Sanskrit ‘a’ = non + ‘steya’ = the practice of stealing, something that can be stolen).


Most of us aren’t thieves in the typical sense – the ski mask wearing, gun point waving kind of thief, I mean. But don’t let that obscure the fact that we do steal, from others and ourselves. We do so in subtle but significant ways, and almost on a daily basis.


I bet you cannot look me straight in the eye and say that you’ve never longed for something – a job, a talent, a relationship, an achievement, a life – someone else had. If you look at others and feel inspired, I guess there’s nothing wrong with that. But if you look at others and desire to live their lives, that’s where it gets tricky.


As Gurudev Sri Sri Ravi Shankar said: “Even sitting and wishing ‘I wish I had those looks’; ‘I wish I had that voice’; ‘I wish I had that car’; ‘I wish I had that power’; ‘I wish I had that money’, you have stolen.” You might not steal the actual thing you covet from another, but you steal immaterial and most valuable things from yourself. Like time, and joyful presence, or appreciation for what you have. And perhaps even more importantly, you steal the trust in yourself to create a life you want to live.


As Vanna Bonta said: “Greed is the lack of confidence in one’s own ability to create.” And Vanna Bonta created a space suit that enabled astronauts to have sex in zero gravity space capsules, so Vanna Bonta knows a thing or two about manifesting your desires.


I think the urge to steal arises out of a threefold process. First (step 1), we compare ourselves to others. Theodore Roosevelt said: “Comparison is the thieve of joy,” but we do it anyway. Measured against the yardstick of the lives of others, we then (step 2) feel a sense of lack, a fear of not having, or being, enough. Finally (step 3), faced with this perceived lack, our faith in our own ability to learn and create decreases.


Oprah opens her podcast Super Soul Conversations by saying: “I believe one of the most valuable gifts you can give yourself is time.” And I believe that by desiring to possess anything – material or immaterial – that does not belong to us, we steal time from ourselves. Time we can give (as well as the patience and dedication needed) to build and sustain the life we long for.


To practice asteya is to address the seeds of greed in ourselves. So, this month I’m practicing: comparing myself less to others. Opening myself up to gratitude and abundance. Strengthening my self-confidence. Who’s with me?


Be like Roosevelt. Don’t be a thieve of your own joy.

Be like Vanna Bonta. Believe in your own ability to create.

Be like Oprah. Give yourself the gift of time.

Every Wednesday to be exact, 20.15 - 21.30 at Rumah Yoga Amsterdam. C U there, crooks!

40 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page